July 23, 2018

Carrie Lam inaugurates Hong Kong SAR

Chief executive Carrie Lam presented her principal officials. Photography by Xiaomei Chen.

Chief Executive Carrie Lam inaugurates Hong Kong SAR Government

The Central People’s Government, on the nomination of the Chief Executive-elect, Mrs Carrie Lam, approved the appointments of Principal Officials of the fifth term of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government. They took office on 1 July 2017.

The 16 Principal Officials appointed under the political appointment system are on non-civil service terms.

They are:

Secretaries of Departments
Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung
Financial Secretary, Mr Paul MP Chan
Secretary for Justice, Mr Rimsky Yuen Kwok-keung, SC

Directors of Bureaux
Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau Tang-wah
Secretary for the Environment, Mr Wong Kam-sing
Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Lau Kong-wah
Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Mr Nicholas W Yang
Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr James Henry Lau Jr
Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Law Chi-kwong
Secretary for the Civil Service, Mr Joshua Law Chi-kong
Secretary for Security, Mr John Lee Ka-chiu
Secretary for Transport and Housing, Mr Frank Chan Fan
Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan Siu-chee
Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong Wai-lun
Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung Yun-hung
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs, Mr Patrick Nip Tak-kuen

Also appointed today are five Principal Officials heading the disciplined services, the Independent Commission Against Corruption and the Audit Commission in the fifth term of the HKSAR Government. They are the Commissioner, Independent Commission Against Corruption, Mr Simon Peh Yun-lu; the Commissioner of Police, Mr Lo Wai-chung; the Director of Audit, Mr David Sun Tak-kei; the Director of Immigration, Mr Erick Tsang Kwok-wai; and the Commissioner of Customs and Excise, Mr Hermes Tang Yi-hoi.

In addition, the Government announced the appointment of Mr Chan Kwok-ki as the Director of the Chief Executive’s Office.

For further information:

Source: Government of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region – http://www.info.gov.hk/gia/general/201706/21/P2017062100346.htm

Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office, Brussels (Director Shirley Lam): https://www.hongkong-eu.org

Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office, Berlin (Director Betty Ho): http://www.hketoberlin.gov.hk

Comments are closed.