December 11, 2018

Jerusalem recognised as Israel’s capital

US Administration under President Donald Trump has finally taken the step to recognising Jerusalem as Israel’s capital, which reflects a reality that the latter city is the seat of Israel’s government and that, for the Jewish state, Jerusalem will always be its capital.

Already in 1995, Congress adopted the Jerusalem Embassy Act, urging the federal government to relocate the American embassy to Jerusalem and to recognise that that city is Israel’s capital. The latter act passed Congress by an overwhelming bipartisan majority and was reaffirmed by a unanimous vote of the US Senate only six months ago. Yet, for over 20 years, every previous American president has exercised the law’s waiver, refusing to move the US embassy to Jerusalem or to recognise Jerusalem as Israel’s capital city. Jerusalem is the seat of the modern Israeli government. It is the home of the Israeli parliament, the Knesset, as well as the Israeli Supreme Court. It is the location of the official residence of the president and prime minister. It headquarters many governmental ministries.

The United States are drawing a distinction between acknowledging the reality that Jerusalem has been Israel’s capital since 1949, and the need for negotiations to resolve all the respective claims that Israelis and Palestinians have, including questions related to Jerusalem. Israelis and Palestinians must resolve these issues directly and without outside interference.

There is a logic to this duality. Israel’s Government is located in the part of Jerusalem that is not contested, and there is an honesty in ending the fiction that the city is not the Israeli capital, which has gone on for close to 70 years.

For further information:

White House Statement on Jerusalem:

Comments are closed.