December 11, 2018

Charlemagne Prize for Macron

Emmanuel Macron at Tallinn – Picutre Arno Mikkor (EU2017EE).

French President Emmanuel Macron shall be awarded 2018 Charlemagne Prize for his vision to rebuild Europe at a time when the bloc is battling instability, organisers of the award said Friday, 8 December 2017.

The selection committee of the German award said it picked Macron “in recognition of his vision of a new Europe and of the re-establishment of the European project, of a new European sovereignty and a close, restructured cooperation between peoples and nations.”

Since taking office, he has championed an ambitious plan to reform the bloc including pushing a “protective Europe” agenda to make it a shield against globalisation for the EU’s 500 million citizens. He also wants greater integration through the creation of a common eurozone finance minister and budget.

Previous winners of the International Charlemagne Prize of Aachen, awarded yearly since 1950 by the western city of Bad Aachen (Aix-la-Chapelle), where Charlemagne is buried, include German Chancellor Dr. Angela Merkel, former French president François Mitterrand, Jean-Claude Juncker, Queen Beatrix of the Netherlands or Prof. Herman Van Rompuy. 

For further information:

Statement of NRW Premier Armin Laschet on the award for President Macron:

French Embassy to Germany (HE Ambassador Anne-Marie Descôtes):

Comments are closed.