May 26, 2019

60th anniversary of the Benelux Union

Tuesday, 5 June 2018, Brussels: Trilateral meeting at the Royal Palace at Brussels for the three Benelux heads of state treated to a luncheon by His Majesty the VII King of the Belgians.

Thereafter the three royal heads of state headed to the Benelux Secretariat to unveil the latter’s new name, for thereafter head to BOZAR, the Palace of Beaux Arts, for a close encounter with youngsters from all three Benelux countries about the union’s meaning for them and prospects about the future.

A formal ceremony and a reception were held wherein the Dutch and Belgian foreign ministers held allocutions alongside the Luxembourgish Minister of Cooperation and Humanitarian Action, Romain Schneider.

In 1958 Belgium, The Netherlands and Luxembourg signed the treaty on the creation of the Benelux Economic Union to deepen the economic cooperation for all three partners. The treaty was renewed in 2008 under the appellation Benelux Union with a further focus for internal market, economic synchronisation, renewability, justice and interior affairs.

For further information:


On the picture

1 row from l.t.r. Belgian Vice-Premier and Foreign and European Minister Didier Reynders, HM King Willem-Alexander of the Netherlands, HRH Grand Duke Henri of Luxembourg, HM King Philippus of the Belgians, Dutch Foreign Minister Stef Blok, Luxembourgish Minister of Cooperation and Humanitarian Action, Romain Schneider

2 row President of the Benelux interparliamentary Assembly, André Postema, Luuk Blom, Deputy Secretary General of the Benelux Secretariat, Thomas Antoine, Secretary General of the Benelux, Premier of North Rhine-Westphalia, Armin Laschet and Deputy Secretary General of the Benelux, Alain de Muyser.

Picture by Cour grand ducale, Claude Piscitelli.

Comments are closed.